Western Art Series

ISBN: 9781783107056 - 256 pages

The Bauhaus movement (meaning the “house of building”) developed in three German cities – it began in Weimar between 1919 and 1925, then continued in Dessau, from 1925 to 1932, and finally ended in 1932-1933 in Berlin. Three leaders presided over the growth of the movement: Walter Gropius, from 1919 to 1928, Hannes Meyer, from 1928 to 1930, and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, from 1930 to 1933. Founded by Gropius in the rather conservative city of Weimar, the new capital of Germany, which had just been defeated by the other European nations in the First World War, the movement became a flamboyant response to this humiliation. Combining new styles in architecture, design, and painting, the Bauhaus aspired to be an expression of a generational utopia, striving to free artists facing a society that remained conservative in spite of the revolutionary efforts of the post-war period.

Michael Siebenbrodt and Lutz Schöbe are two German academics who have been conducting research on the Bauhaus since the mid-1970s, achieving a high level of recognition in their field. Through their organisation of the Bauhaus collections in Weimar and Dessau in addition to numerous exhibitions and publications treating the Bauhaus, they have become internationally renowned.

Specification 1 (Temporis):

  • 265 x 317 mm; 10.4 x 12.5 in.
  • 256 pages
  • 150 illustrations in colour
  • Hardcover
TS Art of War
TS German Painting

Specification 2 (Mega Square):

  • 145 x 162 mm; 5.7 x 6.4 in.
  • 256 pages
  • 120 illustration in colour
  • Hardcover with dust jacket
    or soft cover
MS Naive Art
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap
%d bloggers like this: